Eine Einleitung zu IOTA

IOTA ist eine neues und bahnbrechendes verteiltes ledger, welches keine Blockchain verwendet.

IOTA’s innovatives, quantenfestes Protokoll, auch bekannt als Tangle, ermöglicht einzigartige Features, wie z.B keine Transaktionskosten, schnelle Transaktionen, unendliche Skalierbarkeit, sichere Datentransfers und viele weitere.

IOTA konzentriert sich zunächst darauf als Rückgrat des Internet-Of-Things (IoT) zu dienen.


Features

Keine Transaktionskosten

Um eine IOTA Transaktion zu senden, muss die Node eines Users zwei andere Transaktionen im Tangle (dem Netzwerk) bestätigen. Um diese zu bestätigen, muss einfache POW durchgeführt werden (einfach gesagt: mathematische Probleme gelost werden). POW kann auf sämtlichen modernen Geräten durchgeführt werden, Laptops und Handys inklusive.

Der User und Validator (Miner, Starker, etc.) sind nicht länger entkoppelte Einheiten in IOTA. Dies ermöglicht das Wegfallen von a) sehr viel Mining sowie b) der unvermeidlichen Zentralisierung der Validierung. Eventuell wichtiger ist, dass, aufgrund des Wegfallens von Minern, weder neue Geldeinheiten noch Transaktionsgebühren aus dem System abgeführt werden müssen und IOTA somit komplett ohne Transaktionsgebühren arbeitet.

Die Proof-of-Work in IOTA sollte dabei nicht mit der Proof-of-Work in einem Blockchain-System verglichen werden. IOTA’s POW ist direkt vergleichbar mit Hascash und hat zwei Funktionen: Das Vermeiden von Spam und von Sybil-Attacken. Die POW kann auch, falls benötigt, an z.B Server ausgelagert werden.

Unendlich skalierbar

Da jede neue Transaktion den Sender dazu zwingt zwei andere Transaktionen zu bestätigen, werden immer mehr Transaktionen bestätigt wenn die Zahl der Sender ansteigt. Dies bedeutet, dass IOTA proportional mit der Anzahl von Transaktionen skaliert. IOTA’s Skalierbarkeit ist im folgenden Graph grob dargestellt.

Schnelle Transaktionen

Die Bestätigungszeiten der Transaktionen ist antiproportional zu der Anzahl an Transaktionen im Tangle. Je mehr Transaktionen, desto schneller wird jede Transaktion bestätigt.

Die Anzahl aller IOTA ist begrenzt

Alle IOTA, die es je geben wird, wurden im Genesis Block generiert. Diese Anzahl wird nie steigen oder sinken. Die Anzahl von 2,779,530,283,277,761 ((3^33-1)/2) IOTA ist optimiert für trinäre Prozessoren und wird mit SI-Einheiten verwendet.



Quantensicher

IOTA verwendet anstelle von „elliptic curve cryptography (ECC)“ hash-basierte Signaturen. Diese sind nicht nur wesentlich schneller als EEC, sondern vereinfachen auch das Signieren und Bestätigen von Transaktionen (und vereinfachen die Komplexität des Tangle-Protokolls)

Weitere Features

Unveränderliches Ledger, Sharing/Snapshotting/Swarming, Modularität, extreme Einfachheit, sichere Datentransfers und Dezentralisierung.

Der Tangle

IOTA verwendet den Tangle. Dieser ist ein Software Protokoll das sich grundlegend von Blockchain-Protokollen unterscheidet. Das brillante am Tangle ist, dass Transaktionen parallel verarbeitet werden. Der Tangle unterscheidet sich von der Blockchain in zwei wesentlichen Punkten:

1) IOTA kann viele Transaktionen pro Sekunde verarbeiten, indem diese parallel verarbeitet werden. Je grösser der Tangle mit steigenden Transaktionszahlen wird, desto schneller und sicherer wird IOTA.

2) In einer Blockchain wird der Konsensus durch einen rigorosen Mechanismus erreicht, in dem mehrere Parteien gegeneinander um den nächsten Block und die Block-Rewards „kämpfen“. Da Miner und Benutzer entkoppelte Entitäten sind, bestehen die Block-Rewards eventuell hauptsächlich aus Transaktionsgebühren. Im Tangle sind diese Entitäten nicht länger entkoppelt.

Um eine Transaktion in einer Blockchain zu bestätigen, muss ein bestimmte arbitrages Zeitfenster für die Blockerstellung verstreichen. Der Tangle ermöglicht asynchrone Bestätigung, was bedeutet, dass es keine bestimmte Zeitfenster zwischen Bestätigungen gibt.

Der Tangle ist trinär programmiert, was eine Abweichung vom Binärcode darstellt. Trinär ist effizienter als binär und ermöglicht einige Verbesserungen hinsichtlich der Funktionalität. Der Tangle funktioniert dennoch sowohl auf binären als auch auf trinären Systemen.



Paradigmen-Wechsel

Dir sind sicherlich Bitcoins Skalierungsprobleme und lange Betsätigungszeiten durch wachsende Nutzerzahlen bekannt. Das Gegenteil wird mit IOTA passieren. Bestätigungen von Transaktionen dauern am längsten, wenn das Netzwerk sehr klein ist und sind nahe Null, wenn IOTA eine große Nutzerzahl besitzt. Genauso wächst die Kapazität des Tangles neue Transaktionen aufzunehmen je mehr Transaktionen durchgeführt werden. Die ist ein neues Konzept, an das man sich gewöhnen muss. Es ist essentiell zu verstehen, dass der Tangle nicht optimal funktioniert bevor eine kritische Masse erreicht wurde.

Kurze Zusammenfassung der Geschichte von IOTA

IOTA wurde 2015 von David Sønstebø, Sergey Ivancheglo, Dominik Schiener, and Dr. Serguei Popov gegründet. Serguei Popov, der einen Doktor der Mathematik besitzt, legte die nötigen mathematischen Grundlagen des tangles fest, welche von Sergey Ivancheglo and Dominik Schiener programmiert wurden. Das Projekt wird von David Sønstebø, einem Business- und Technologie Experten, geleitet. Dieses Team war zuvor bereits langjährig in der Crypto-Szene aktiv.

IOTA veranstaltete eine ICO im Dezember 2015, bei der alle IOTA and die Teilnehmer ausgeschüttet wurden. Bei der Ivo wurden 1337 Bitcoin für das Projekt gesammelt. Es gab weder Premining, Instamining noch ähnliches. Um die Gründer sowie das wachsende Entwicklerteam zu unterstützen, wurde ein signifikanter Teil gespendet, um die sog. IOTA Foundation ins Leben zu rufen. Die IOTA Foundation ist eine gemeinnützige Stiftung mit Sitz in Berlin. Zusätzlich zur originalen Finanzierung kann die Foundation von Zuwendungen öffentlicher Hand sowie Unterstützung von Firmen erhalten (ähnlich wie die Linux Foundation).

Weiterhin hat die IOTA Community erfolgreich für die Realisierung des sog. „Big Deal“ gespendet. Dieser Deal hilft, Kooperationen mit mehreren großen Firmen des IoT, welche momentan aufgrund von Geheimhaltung noch nicht genannt werden können, aufzubauen. Außerdem wurde, erneut durch die Community, der „Investors Club“ gegründet. Dieser fokussiert sich auf das Finanzieren von Community-Projekten, damit das Ecosystem nachhaltig wächst.

IOTA ging im Sommer 2016 in die öffentliche BETA-Testphase.

Schlussendlich muss noch erwähnt werden, dass die IOTA Foundation auch an Hardware für das IoT arbeitet (JINN). Details hierzu werden in Zukunft erscheinen.

Die Foundation

Lerne mehr über das Team hinter IOTA!

Der Big Deal

Lerne mehr über den Big Deal!

Whitepaper

Lese das IOTA whitepaper!

Artikel

Finde mehr interessante Artikel zum Thema IOTA und IoT!

An introduction to IOTA



IOTA is a ground breaking new open-source distributed ledger that does not use a blockchain.

Its innovative new quantum-proof protocol, known as the Tangle, gives rise to unique new features like zero fees, infinite scalability, fast transactions, secure data transfer and many others.

IOTA is initially focused on serving as the backbone of the Internet-of-Things (IoT).


Features

Zero Fees

In order to send an IOTA transaction, a user’s device must simply confirm two other transactions on the Tangle (the network). To confirm these two transactions, a device performs low difficulty “proof of work”, which is essentially just a series of math problems. These math problems can be done by almost any modern device including laptops and phones.

The user and miner are no longer decoupled entities in IOTA. This removes the need to waste large quantities of energy on mining, or risk inevitable mining centralization. Perhaps more importantly, because the Tangle eliminates the requirement of miners, newly minted units of currency and transaction fees do not need to be extracted from the system to pay mining fees. The result is that IOTA has zero fees.

The proof of work in IOTA should not be compared to that used in traditional blockchains. IOTA’s proof of work is directly comparable to Hashcash, and it serves two purposes: To prevent spam and to prevent Sybil-attacks. The proof of work in IOTA can even be outsourced from small lightweight devices to something more able to handle the computational load.

Infinitely Scalable

Since each transaction requires the sender to verify two other transactions on the Tangle, more transactions can be confirmed as the number of users sending them increases. This means that IOTA scales proportionally to the number of transactions ad infinitum. IOTA scalability is depicted in this graph.

Fast Transactions

Transaction times are inversely proportional to the number of transactions on the Tangle. The more transactions, the more quickly each transaction will be confirmed. As IOTA approaches critical mass of adoption, transaction times will approach the network propagation time.

Fixed Money Supply

All of the IOTA that will ever exist were created in the genesis block. The amount will never increase or decrease. The total money supply of 2,779,530,283,277,761 is optimized for ternary computation and notation ease of use utilizing SI units. ((3^33-1)/2) = 2.779 x 10^15



Quantum Proof

IOTA uses hash-based signatures instead of elliptic curve cryptography (ECC). Not only are hash-based signatures much faster than ECC, they also greatly simplify the signing and verification process and reduce overall complexity of the Tangle protocol.

Other Features

Other features include: immutable ledger, sharding/snapshotting/swarming, modularity, extremely lightweight, secure data transfer, decentralized, and private.

The Tangle

IOTA uses the Tangle, which is a software protocol that fundamentally differs from the blockchain protocol. The brilliance of the Tangle is that transactions are processed in parallel. The Tangle differs from blockchain in two main ways:

1) IOTA is able to achieve high transaction throughput by parallelizing validation. As the Tangle grows with more transactions, IOTA becomes faster and more secure with transaction finality happening more quickly as network critical mass is approached.

2) The way consensus is achieved in a blockchain is through a rigorous mechanism that requires multiple parties to “race” against each other in an attempt to add the next block and earn the block rewards. Since “miners” and “users” are decoupled entities, block rewards paid to miners will eventually mostly consist of users’ transaction fees. In the Tangle, “miners” and “users” are no longer decoupled entities.

In order for a transaction to be confirmed on a blockchain, a certain arbitrary time interval must elapse for block creation. The Tangle allows for asynchronous settlement, meaning that there are no extrinsic arbitrary temporal restraints on transaction finalization.

The Tangle is programmed in ternary which is a deviation from the traditional binary code. Ternary is much more efficient than binary, and provides for some significant improvements in functionality. The Tangle can be run on binary or ternary systems.



Paradigm Shift

You’re probably used to hearing about bitcoin’s scalability problems and long confirmation times due to a growing user base. The opposite will be true in IOTA. In fact, confirmation times will take the longest when the network is very small, while they will approach zero as the user base grows in size. Along these same lines, as the number of transactions in IOTA increases, the capacity of the Tangle to handle even more transactions is increased. This is a brand new concept that will take some getting used to. The concept that the Tangle doesn’t function optimally until critical mass adoption is important to understand.

Brief History

David Sønstebø, Sergey Ivancheglo, Dominik Schiener, and Dr. Serguei Popov founded IOTA in 2015. Serguei Popov, a Ph.D. in mathematics, laid out the math required for the Tangle which was then written into code by the programming prodigies Sergey Ivancheglo and Dominik Schiener. The project is led by David Sønstebø, an expert in business and technology. This group has been extensively involved in the cryptocurrency space for many years, all with impressive resumes and notable past successes.

IOTA hosted a crowdsale in December of 2015 at which time the entire money supply was distributed to crowdsale participants. The event raised 1,337 bitcoin for project development. There was no premine, instamine, or otherwise. In order to incentivize the co-founders and growing team of developers, the IOTA community united to donate a significant amount of resources to establish the IOTA Foundation. The IOTA Foundation is a "gemeinnützige Stiftung" (i.e. non-profit Foundation) located in Germany. In addition to its original funding, The Foundation is eligible to receive support from government grants and corporate contributions (similar to the Linux Foundation).

In its continued pursuit of excellence, the IOTA community subsequently funded “The Big Deal” via donations. This deal would aid in establishing numerous large corporate collaborations in the realm of IoT, most of which are yet to be publicly revealed due to legal agreements. As if that wasn’t enough, the community showed its commitment yet again by establishing the “Investor’s Club” with a focus on funding more community-centric projects and growing the ecosystem organically and sustainably. The IOTA community’s actions have proven steadfast commitment to, and belief in the long term success of the project. It continues to be extremely generous with its contributions to the ecosystem.

IOTA entered open-beta testing in the summer of 2016.

It should also be mentioned that the IOTA founders are developing hardware for the purpose of further enabling the IoT. Details will be revealed in the future.

The Foundation

Learn more about the people behind IOTA!

The Big Deal

Learn more about the big community funding called The Big Deal!

Whitepaper

Read the IOTA whitepaper!

Articles

Find more interesting reads about IOTA!